Salt Dough Footprint Paperweight…

I came across this lovely idea for creating a Salt Dough Footprint Keepsake and thought that it would be a lovely birthday present for my Dad.

019020

Making the salt dough was extremely easy and I had a willing volunteer ready to provide a tiny footprint!

028

I took half of the salt dough mixture and moulded into the desired shape on a piece of greaseproof paper.  I then pushed Oscar’s foot down into the dough and lifted it out relatively quickly to keep the footprint as defined as possible.

024

I baked my salt dough paperweight in the oven for approximately 4 hours on a low heat, turning it over half-way through the cooking time.

Once my salt dough had cooled it was time to paint it.  I chose a bright yellow acrylic paint which was really easy to apply and dried in a couple of hours.

002

I was so pleased with the finished product and placed it inside a tissue-paper lined box ready to be posted back to the UK.

005

I also wrote a little birthday message on the back of the paperweight with a permanent marker.

006

I used a white liquid-ink pen to decorate the box.  I absolutely love these black cardboard gift boxes, which come in a variety of sizes, as they are so easy to decorate and it really adds a special touch.

004

I would like to make some salt dough handprint and footprint keepsakes for both boys but I think I will struggle to get Sebastian to participate!  They are so simple and cheap to make, and are a lovely reminder of how tiny your children’s feet once were.  I might even try to make some more this week as a Father’s Day present for Mr G!

Leave a Reply

